Facebook Ups Security With Remote Log Out - InformationWeek

InformationWeek is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them.Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IoT
IoT
Government // Enterprise Architecture

Facebook Ups Security With Remote Log Out

Users can view their active sessions of the social network and shut them down from one central control.




Top 15 Google Apps For Business
(click for larger image and for full photo gallery)
Facebook is rolling out a security feature that lets users who forgot to log out of a computer or mobile device to do so remotely.

Facebook has added the new feature under the "Account Security" section of the Account Settings Page. The site is rolling out the feature gradually.

In announcing its plans Thursday, Facebook said it was trying to help those people who may have logged on using a friend's smartphone or public computer and then walked away without logging out. The new feature will enable those people to see if they are still logged in on other devices and then log out from one central control.

In viewing their account activity, users will see those sessions that are active, along with information about each one, such as the login time, the device's name and approximate location, and the browser and operating system.

If someone has accessed the account, users can shut down the unauthorized login before resetting their password.

Facebook has promised more security improvements over the coming weeks. In May, the site announced a login notification feature that allows people to approve the devices they use to access Facebook and be notified immediately if their account is ever accessed from an unapproved device.

Security is a constant work in progress on Facebook, the world's largest social network with a half-billion users. Earlier this month, a "Dislike" button circulating Facebook was identified as a scam.

People who installed the rogue application, which used victims' friends list to promote itself, were asked to take a survey. Passing along the information from the survey to clients is how creators of the scam made their money, security experts said.

We welcome your comments on this topic on our social media channels, or [contact us directly] with questions about the site.
Comment  | 
Print  | 
More Insights
Slideshows
10 Ways to Transition Traditional IT Talent to Cloud Talent
Lisa Morgan, Freelance Writer,  11/23/2020
News
What Comes Next for the COVID-19 Computing Consortium
Joao-Pierre S. Ruth, Senior Writer,  11/24/2020
News
Top 10 Data and Analytics Trends for 2021
Jessica Davis, Senior Editor, Enterprise Apps,  11/13/2020
White Papers
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
Video
Current Issue
Why Chatbots Are So Popular Right Now
In this IT Trend Report, you will learn more about why chatbots are gaining traction within businesses, particularly while a pandemic is impacting the world.
Slideshows
Flash Poll