Samsung Galaxy View Review: A Big Tablet With Big Problems - InformationWeek

InformationWeek is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them.Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IoT
IoT
Mobile // Mobile Devices
News
12/10/2015
07:06 AM
Eric Zeman
Eric Zeman
Slideshows
0%
100%

Samsung Galaxy View Review: A Big Tablet With Big Problems

Samsung's humongous tablet is best used as an alternative to small TVs, but even then it's a dubious purchase. Here is a hands-on review of the device.
Previous
1 of 11
Next

(Image: Samsung)

(Image: Samsung)

The Galaxy View is an oversized tablet intended to serve as a central hub for media, entertainment, and information. The awkward hardware, mediocre screen, and questionable performance, however, cloud the Galaxy View's outlook.

Samsung claims the Galaxy View is optimized for watching video. Where most tablets have shifted to screens with 4:3 or similar aspect ratios, the Galaxy View opts for the movie- and TV-friendly 16:9 aspect ratio. The makes for an extra-wide tablet that can really only be used in one orientation. The resolution is capped at 1080p. It works with most of today's HD content, but feels a bit anemic when viewed up-close.

The built-in kickstand allows it to rest at two different angles: mostly upright, or mostly flat. The kickstand doubles as a carrying handle to make the Galaxy View easier to transport around your office or home. It sits on flat surfaces, like your conference room table or kitchen counter, quite well. The View runs on batteries, so you can move it most anywhere. However, it is not intended for surfing the Web when sitting on the couch. The goofy kickstand and huge size more or less prevent you from holding it comfortably. This thing is strictly meant to stand on its own.

[See iPad Pro Review: Bigger Isn't Always Better.]

Samsung's TouchWiz user interface rests atop the Android 5.1 Lollipop operating system. Anyone familiar with Samsung's smartphones will feel right at home using the Galaxy View. Samsung customized the View's homescreen and included a dedicated panel for third-party video services such as CNN, Netflix, Hulu, and YouTube. The View is crammed full of bloatware from Samsung and AT&T.

The tablet relies on the Samsung Exynos 7580 1.6-GHz octa-core 64-bit processor. The chip is accompanied by just 2GB of RAM, and the tablet comes in 32-GB and 64-GB variants. The tablet supports microSD memory cards, so you can sideload photos, videos, or music if you wish. Connectivity runs the norm thanks to WiFi, Bluetooth, and optional LTE. Keeping the Galaxy Tab connected is a breeze and it paired well with various networks and accessories. It is sometimes buggy and sometimes slow.

The View goes for $600, but is available now for the discounted price of $500. It's not clear how long the lower price will be in effect.

In the following pages we review the Galaxy View and attempt to answer the burning question, "Is this the oversized tablet for me?"

**Elite 100 2016: DEADLINE EXTENDED TO JAN. 18, 2016** There's still time to be a part of the prestigious InformationWeek Elite 100! Submit your company's application by Jan. 18, 2016. You'll find instructions and a submission form here: InformationWeek's Elite 100 2016.

Eric is a freelance writer for InformationWeek specializing in mobile technologies. View Full Bio

We welcome your comments on this topic on our social media channels, or [contact us directly] with questions about the site.
Previous
1 of 11
Next
Comment  | 
Print  | 
More Insights
Comments
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View
ChrisW901
50%
50%
ChrisW901,
User Rank: Apprentice
3/28/2017 | 2:00:45 PM
This review is nearly 100% backwards !
I have owned the Galaxy view for about eight months and have used it nearly daily. In fact I'm using it to write this review. The screen is bright and clear and the resolution is great. No visible jaggies on the tiniest text. Yes the stand is a little bit awkward but I actually bought a case which hold it for transport quite well. In fact the main reason I originally bought it was to carry it around to give demos of my photography, and it does this quite well. Ironically as much as I love this tablet it does have a couple of big problems but these are both things that the author of this review said we're just fine .... wait, what ??? No, the battery life is not good. In fact it downright sucks. Oh sure I could use the tablet at 60% brightness but that would defeat the purpose of having a nice bright punchy screen. So at 100% brightness which I always run I can kill it in less than 3 hours starting at fully charged. The other problem is sound. If I wanted to use this for music more often or music videos I would highly consider a separate powered speaker. Oh and by the way I bought mine for $400 open box. So aside from the lousy battery life and poor feeble sound yes I would recommend it..... for certain people such as myself.
RichardH833
50%
50%
RichardH833,
User Rank: Apprentice
2/16/2017 | 11:46:50 AM
Good for vision impaired?
My wife does reading, colorfly, etc. on her iPad. After a stroke, which also impaired her vision considerably, I am looking for a large version of a tablet. I'm unclear about this porduct so hoping someone can advise me. Can she use this for books, colorfly, ordering from WalMart, etc.?
MrG3ARHART
50%
50%
MrG3ARHART,
User Rank: Apprentice
2/13/2017 | 3:49:39 AM
This main product review is nonsense. I love my View.
I bought my View upon it's release unto the market. Only thing I have done to it is add a memory card. I love it, the sound quality is great, the graphics are pretty damn sharp, and it is fast for what it is. People forget these days the difference between a tool like this and a desktop. This is a tablet so when you invest in these know what you're getting into and have decent internet to run it on. As for Yamanashi down below in the comments this tablet isn't "just for" or "built around" elderly folk whom are going senial and have a lack of vision or need bigger keys to type with... It is an all around mobile unit. From business to leisure this tablet has got what it takes to do what you need quickly and effectively but like any good machine you can't expect it to run fast if you bog it down with junk. I run my business with this, surf the web, and play games/ social media on it. It runs faster than any netbook I have ever owned and tethers via Bluetooth or usb hardware with precise efficiency. I recommend this to anyone whom is looking for a nice tablet on the market.
PatinDetroitMi
100%
0%
PatinDetroitMi,
User Rank: Apprentice
1/24/2017 | 3:34:22 AM
Pretty ironic I like mine
I read this review and I get the feeling that this person is really not tech Savvy or someone who just doesn't like technology. I have the Galaxy Samsung Galaxy view 18.4 and I love it. Yes, it is a bit big and yes it is a bit bulky. but the video quality on it is amazing and the things you can do on it is pretty neat. Facebook needs to get their act together and make their app work this tablet as do a few others. but other than that it's fine. I don't know what the problem is really.
NatalieH497
0%
100%
NatalieH497,
User Rank: Apprentice
12/17/2016 | 12:27:12 AM
Looks like just what I want
I do not need a PC.  I have one with an i7-5930, 1.2TB Intel 750 series AIC PCI-e harddrive, 30TB of of other internal and external hard drives, ...


I do not need a laptop.  I have an ASUS ROG G800VI with the first nvme drive replaced with the 2TB Samsung 860 and the backup hard drive replaced with a 4TB Samsung 850 Evo.

 

I do need a large screen computer that runs the Android OS as the primary OS and can be plugged in and left plugged in 24x365.  I am not interested in running productivity software on the machine.  I am wanting something I can play my Android games on and not worry about them being slow.  The screen look great to me, and yes, I am sitting close.  No, it is not as good as the screen on my laptop or my tower (actually thinking of switching to a server cabinet), but unless I concentrate and look for the pixels they are not noticable.  You should have looked at the old NTSC televisions. 

 

I do admit, I am in JohnA965's age group.

 

The only thing I am really noticing it missing, this is mostly based on its size, is a DVD/BluRay Player.  A thin form factor like my external BluRay from years ago would fit nicely.
sonny323
100%
0%
sonny323,
User Rank: Apprentice
12/16/2016 | 8:39:14 AM
Samsung Galaxy view
I have no clue what this article is bashing the view for , I got it like a month ago and it's been great! Plus I bought a carrying case from best buy for 25.00 and it fits perfectly, I love it no problem with any of my Samsung products, tablets,phones, TV
JohnA965
0%
100%
JohnA965,
User Rank: Apprentice
1/26/2016 | 1:24:37 PM
Galaxy View Reviewed By Someone Who Is Not THe Device's Intended Market.
This large tablet is not intended for a twenty or thirty something who owns a big screen TV or plays video games.  This tablet is targeted towards ssomeone who is older, middle age or senior citizen who may have one TV in the bedroom or living room.

No one in the aforementioned demographic would view a TV/Video onn an 18 inch screen three feet away. We were raised to sit back from the TV at least five feet.  Reaching up from a coach to change a video once a half an hour ir==or longer is not a big deal.  I have major surgery last week and I am doing it without a problem.  

Why would I want an 18 inch tablet with the same PPI as my Galaxy Tab S 10.5 or Galaxy Tab S2 9.7 or my Pixel 2 LS?  As a Comacast broadband user I am limited to 300GB per months.  Those extra pixels cost money in bandwidth.  If I want to view a video two feet away I will use my Galaxy Tab S 10.5. This was an intelligent tradeoff by Samsung. 

There is no remote control. I have no need for one, if I did I would pair the Samsung mouse I bought for the Galaxy !0.5 S with keyboard.  I never use that tablet with a keyboard or a mouse.

If you use the View for it's intended purpose it is not sluggish at all.  This is a video viewing machine. Samsung's advertising clearly states that. If you wasnt a traditional tablet this device is not for you.  Get a smaller but more powerful iPad Pro.

I have not set up my email in this machine because I have smaller tablets and computer for that.  This is a video tsblet, not a productivity machine.

Now here are my criticisms.  I do not like Touchwiz.  The Designers trained at Kaist University in Daejeon, Republic of Korea, seem to have little industrial design creativity as compared to those working at Apple. The video guide is horrible. You cannot customize it.  That was a dumb choice, no better way to describe it.  As with all my Samsung Android devices I use the Google Laucher and on the View Set up Chronos's Weather widget and my streaming video apps as my first page.  I use Flipboard in place of Samsung's limited screen saver.

The Galaxy View is anm ideal device for someone who is elderly and does not want to add to their cable provider's cofferse by adding more TVs.  THe difference in price between the view and a TV will soon be eaten up by added cable charges.  I am 63 years old.  This device is not heavy.  It is an excellent coffee table hybrid which I am sure will improve in the future.  If you fit the demographic I described you will be very satisfied with this device.  We need some senior citizens as tech reviewers.  Theere are plenty of over 60 geeks who advise the senior crowd on what devices will work for there particular sitiation.  To often tech magazines forget we purchase tech often and would purchase more if we had writers who understood our needs.
mak63
0%
100%
mak63,
User Rank: Ninja
12/11/2015 | 4:17:59 PM
Either price is a lot of money
Yes, I couldn't agree more. Do people still spend $500 or $600 in a device like this, that's not even a PC replacement? If we, at least could get 1 year-free-subscription to HBO Now or Roku Streaming.
Slideshows
What Digital Transformation Is (And Isn't)
Cynthia Harvey, Freelance Journalist, InformationWeek,  12/4/2019
Commentary
Watch Out for New Barriers to Faster Software Development
Lisa Morgan, Freelance Writer,  12/3/2019
Commentary
If DevOps Is So Awesome, Why Is Your Initiative Failing?
Guest Commentary, Guest Commentary,  12/2/2019
White Papers
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
Video
Current Issue
The Cloud Gets Ready for the 20's
This IT Trend Report explores how cloud computing is being shaped for the next phase in its maturation. It will help enterprise IT decision makers and business leaders understand some of the key trends reflected emerging cloud concepts and technologies, and in enterprise cloud usage patterns. Get it today!
Slideshows
Flash Poll