National Tech Medal Winners Include eBay, OS Creator, And Net Engineer - InformationWeek

InformationWeek is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them.Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Government // Enterprise Architecture
11:39 AM

National Tech Medal Winners Include eBay, OS Creator, And Net Engineer

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation is the nation's highest honor for technological achievement.

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Carlos Gutierrez and President George Bush have announced this year's recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation.

A packet switching inventor, a software engineer and designer, and eBay are among the 2007 laureates scheduled to receive the nation's highest honor for technological and scientific achievement during a White House ceremony on Sept. 29.

Paul Baran, of Atherton, Calif., will receive the award for inventing packet switching, which helped make the Internet possible.

David Cutler, of Medina, Wash., will receive the medal for designing and implementing global standards for real-time, personal, and server-based operating systems. His work has contributed to computer architecture, compilers, operating systems, and software engineering.

EBay, the online auction site based in San Jose, Calif., is one of two companies honored during this round. Gutierrez credited eBay with creating technology that encouraged and supported online trade, enabling global entrepreneurship, and contributing to the Internet's global growth.

The second company, Skunk Works, of Palmdale, Calif., has developed aircraft technologies and systems for the federal government. The division of Lockheed has a 65-year record that includes stealth capability.

Adam Heller will receive the award for contributions to electrochemistry and bioelectrochemistry, and C. Grant Willson will receive the medal for creating lithographic imaging materials and techniques for improved microelectronic parts. Heller and Wilson are from Austin, Texas.

Armand Feigenbaum, of Pittsfield, Mass., will receive the medal for defining the Total Quality Management approach to achieving excellence and global competitiveness. Finally, Roscoe O. Brady of Bethesda, Md. will receive the medal for uncovering enzymatic defects in hereditary metabolic disorders, which led to enzyme replacement therapy.

"America leads the world in technological innovation because of men, women and cutting-edge corporations like those we honor this year," Gutierrez said in an announcement. "Their contributions to our society have impacted all of our lives and they serve as both an inspiration and as role models for future generations of American innovators."

We welcome your comments on this topic on our social media channels, or [contact us directly] with questions about the site.
Comment  | 
Print  | 
More Insights
InformationWeek Is Getting an Upgrade!

Find out more about our plans to improve the look, functionality, and performance of the InformationWeek site in the coming months.

11 Things IT Professionals Wish They Knew Earlier in Their Careers
Lisa Morgan, Freelance Writer,  4/6/2021
Time to Shift Your Job Search Out of Neutral
Jessica Davis, Senior Editor, Enterprise Apps,  3/31/2021
Does Identity Hinder Hybrid-Cloud and Multi-Cloud Adoption?
Joao-Pierre S. Ruth, Senior Writer,  4/1/2021
White Papers
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
Current Issue
Successful Strategies for Digital Transformation
Download this report to learn about the latest technologies and best practices or ensuring a successful transition from outdated business transformation tactics.
Flash Poll